The IUPAC-Richter prize was presented at the 37th National Medicinal Chemistry Symposium of the American Chemical Society in New York on 28th June, 2022. The awardee of the 2022 IUPAC-Richter Prize has been selected by the international Selection Committee based on nominations. The jury had a difficult decision-making task, since we received 13 excellent nominations.
The fact that the PROTACS technology discovered by Crews has been widely adapted and investigated not only within the pharmaceutical industry, but also in academia, demonstrates the significance and impact of this work. While no drugs have yet been approved, several are in development and these molecules are progressing, because they are effective and safe. 

This year marks the tenth occasion of the IUPAC-Richter Prize, which was established in 2005 by the IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) and Richter PLC. Awarded biannually, the awardee is announced by the IUPAC following nominations and the decision of an independent international selection committee. The lecture in which the prize is awarded occurs alternatively in Europe and in the United States. The awardee receives a prize of $ 10.000, which is sponsored by Richter PLC, and a plaque, which presented by IUPAC.

Previous awardees: 2006: Malcolm FG Stevens (UK), 2008: Jan Heeres (Belgium), 2010: Arun Ghosh (USA), 2012: Stephen Hanessian (Canada),  2014 : Helmut Buschmann (Germany), 2016: Michael Sofia (USA), 2018: Peter Grotenhuis (USA), 2020: John Macor (USA), 2022: Michael E. Jung (USA).

Chair of the Selection Committee, Dr. János Fischer congratulated Professor Michael E. Jung on his much-deserved award. The representative of Richter company, Dr. János Éles, presented the plaque for the 2022 IUPAC-Richter Prize. 

The award lecture of Professor Michael E. Jung had the following title: Drug Discovery in Academia: Some Success Stories.