The 2024 IUPAC-Richter-Prize will be presented during the XXVIII EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (September 1-5, 2024) in Rome (Italy) and the recipient will also give a lecture on the subject of their research at the 38th ACS National Medicinal Chemistry Symposium (June 23-26) in Seattle, WA, United States.
The fact that the PROTACS technology discovered by Crews has been widely adapted and investigated not only within the pharmaceutical industry, but also in academia, demonstrates the significance and impact of this work. While no drugs have yet been approved, several are in development and these molecules are progressing, because they are effective and safe. 

This year marks the tenth occasion of the IUPAC-Richter Prize, which was established in 2005 by the IUPAC (International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry) and Richter PLC. Awarded biannually, the awardee is announced by the IUPAC following nominations and the decision of an independent international selection committee. The lecture in which the prize is awarded occurs alternatively in Europe and in the United States. The awardee receives a prize of $ 10.000, which is sponsored by Richter PLC, and a plaque, which presented by IUPAC.

Previous awardees: 2006: Malcolm FG Stevens (UK), 2008: Jan Heeres (Belgium), 2010: Arun Ghosh (USA), 2012: Stephen Hanessian (Canada),  2014 : Helmut Buschmann (Germany), 2016: Michael Sofia (USA), 2018: Peter Grotenhuis (USA), 2020: John Macor (USA), 2022: Michael E. Jung (USA).